Upside downside – Part ll

Follow up post on the inversion workshop with Ali G the other day! Main lesson: I’ve got to improve my arm strength.

20130401-070351.jpg

20130401-070553.jpg

20130401-070801.jpg This was practicing Ali G’s method of getting up into handstand: starting in Adho Mukha Svanasana, use one leg to push off the ground with, swinging your other leg with the momentum and hoping you hit the wall. I didn’t like the chaos that ensued with my body’s alignment so I switched around a bit and came into handstand via the arm exercises I’ve been practicing.

20130401-071326.jpg

20130401-071338.jpg

20130401-071409.jpg Now, to stay up on my own is the goal. Strengthening my abdomen, lower back, and arms should help; any other suggestions? What’s worked for you?

One thought on “Upside downside – Part ll

  1. Ooohhh, I like the idea of getting into a hanstand from downward dog! I never would have thought of that. I don’t have a ledge on a wall, which would be perfect, but I’m thinking a bookshelf would work, and I have plenty of those!

Leave a Reply

